Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - bologna.lab

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | bologna.lab | Humboldt Award for Excellence in Teaching

Humboldt Award for Excellence in Teaching

Outstanding teaching is an important touchstone for the quality of our university, because according to Humboldt’s ideal, research can only be successful when it is closely associated with learning. Every year, the ‘Humboldt Award for Excellence in Teaching’ rewards successful and innovative teachers and teaching concepts implemented in the course of regular teaching at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU). By focusing on different aspects of teaching each year, the award aims to stimulate a broad discussion. The HU endows a prize of 10,000 € to be used for teaching purposes as the award winner sees fit.



The Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Award for Excellence in Teaching will be presented in the academic year 2023 on the topic of "International Teaching and Learning". This year, teachers and teaching/learning projects are being sought who have succeeded in an outstanding way in introducing international and intercultural dimensions into teaching. For more information see the current call for nominations.

Have you experienced courses in the winter semester 22/23, summer semester 2023 or winter semester 2023/24 that are successful examples of international teaching at the HU? Then nominate them by 11 January 2024 for the HU Teaching Award 2023!


All nominees will be informed of their nomination. The prize will be awarded by a jury decision in cooperation with the respective institutes, student councils and deaneries. Shortlisters will be invited to present their class or project at the "Humboldt Tag der Lehre 2024" in June 2024. The award ceremony will take place as a hybrid event, depending on the general conditions.

Last year, Azakhiwe Z. Nocanda won the ‘Humboldt Award for Excellence in Teaching’. We congratulate her!


Call for nominations

[alternativer Bildtext]


[alternativer Bildtext]




Kategorie Über den Preis: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Kategorie Ausschreibung 2018: Heyde/Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Kategorie Vorherige Ausschreibungen: Zappe/Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin